Version française
Home     About     Download     Resources     Contact us    
Browse thread
RE: [Caml-list] 32 bit floats, SSE instructions
[ Home ] [ Index: by date | by threads ]
[ Search: ]

[ Message by date: previous | next ] [ Message in thread: previous | next ] [ Thread: previous | next ]
Date: -- (:)
From: Kenneth Knowles <kknowles@b...>
Subject: Re: [Caml-list] 32 bit floats, SSE instructions

I'll add my vote; I find Xavier's occasional comments to be the highlight of the
mailing list.  Kind of like some zen priest who disarms an angry mob with a
single phrase...

On Wed, Jun 09, 2004 at 01:15:09PM -0500, Daniel Ortmann wrote:
> Yes, please.  I also would like to read your reply.
> 
> 
> Christophe TROESTLER <Christophe.Troestler@umh.ac.be> writes:
> 
> > On Wed, 9 Jun 2004, Xavier Leroy <xavier.leroy@inria.fr> wrote:
> > > 
> > > I was about to post a long and detailed reply explaining the
> > > difference between computational types and storage types, why I
> > > think 32-bit floats might be useful as the latter but not at the
> > > former, quoting cycle counts from various processor manuals, mention
> > > what could conceivably be done in OCaml at minimal implementation
> > > costs, discuss SSE2 a bit, and generally answer the OP's initial
> > > questions. [...] Then I decided not to post.
> 
> > Please consider to do it for those, like me, who always learn a lot
> > from this kind of posts.
> 
> -- 
> Daniel Ortmann, LSI Logic, 3425 40th Av NW, Suite 200, Rochester MN 55901
> work: Daniel.Ortmann@lsil.com / 507.535.3861 / 63861 int / 8012.3861 gdds
> home: ortmann@venturecs.net / 507.288.7732, 2414 30Av NW #D, Rochester MN 55901
> gpg/pgp public key: http://wwwkeys.us.pgp.net
> jabber: daniel_ortmann@jabber.org / dortmann@jabber.co.lsil.com
> 
> -------------------
> To unsubscribe, mail caml-list-request@inria.fr Archives: http://caml.inria.fr
> Bug reports: http://caml.inria.fr/bin/caml-bugs FAQ: http://caml.inria.fr/FAQ/
> Beginner's list: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/ocaml_beginners

-------------------
To unsubscribe, mail caml-list-request@inria.fr Archives: http://caml.inria.fr
Bug reports: http://caml.inria.fr/bin/caml-bugs FAQ: http://caml.inria.fr/FAQ/
Beginner's list: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/ocaml_beginners