English version
Accueil     À propos     Téléchargement     Ressources     Contactez-nous    

Ce site est rarement mis à jour. Pour les informations les plus récentes, rendez-vous sur le nouveau site OCaml à l'adresse ocaml.org.

Browse thread
[Caml-list] Who controls INRIA mailserv filters?
[ Home ] [ Index: by date | by threads ]
[ Search: ]

[ Message by date: previous | next ] [ Message in thread: previous | next ] [ Thread: previous | next ]
Date: 2004-08-12 (07:43)
From: Sven Luther <sven.luther@w...>
Subject: Re: [Caml-list] Who controls INRIA mailserv filters?
On Thu, Aug 12, 2004 at 12:36:02AM -0700, Brandon J. Van Every wrote:
> don groves wrote:
> > At 14:22 8/11/2004, don groves wrote:
> > >At 13:29 8/11/2004, Brandon J. Van Every wrote:
> > >
> > >Maybe if you spelled S*attle correctly the filter would pass it.
> > >Most, if not all, words with embedded non-alpha characters these
> > >days are ads for V!agr@ or C!@lis so the filter gets trained
> > on those.
> >
> > Nope, that's not it ;)
> I am unsure of your antecedant, so I'm unsure what you mean by your
> followup.
> If you look at the X-Sp*m header of your 2 posts, you will see a list of
> words.  Those with high values like 99's increase the likelihood that
> your post will be classified as sp*m.  That is why I use an asterisk
> with them.  The problem words in your own posts are:
>   brand*n
>   spell*d
>   s*attle
>   agggggr (only 1 g, probably part of vairga (letters transposed to
> protect us all))
>   addddds (only 1 d)
>   traff*c
> Bear in mind that each and every one of my posts carries an automatic
> strike against me.  Even though I'm willing to use Brand*n in my
> signature, I'm totally unwilling to create a separate e-mail identity
> just for caml-list.  So every one of my posts has 1 correctly spelled
> occurrance of Brand*n in it.
> I bet, furthermore, that you will not see the word S*attle (correctly
> spelled) in the X-sp*m header of this post.  This would disprove your
> claim about * being a red flag for the filter, unless the filter does
> not in fact report full information about how it makes its decisions.

Bah, just do as spammers do, and quote a considerable portion of one of
Xavier's posts to this list as a signature. Works like a charm for spammers to
defeat bayesian filters, so should be ok for you too.


Sven Luther

To unsubscribe, mail caml-list-request@inria.fr Archives: http://caml.inria.fr
Bug reports: http://caml.inria.fr/bin/caml-bugs FAQ: http://caml.inria.fr/FAQ/
Beginner's list: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/ocaml_beginners