Browse thread
Re: webmaster@caml.inria.fr is not a "legal" mail address (Re: [Caml-list] Re: Still problems with the main ocaml web page)
- Francis Dupont
[
Home
]
[ Index:
by date
|
by threads
]
[ Message by date: previous | next ] [ Message in thread: previous | next ] [ Thread: previous | next ]
[ Message by date: previous | next ] [ Message in thread: previous | next ] [ Thread: previous | next ]
| Date: | -- (:) |
| From: | Francis Dupont <Francis.Dupont@e...> |
| Subject: | Re: webmaster@caml.inria.fr is not a "legal" mail address (Re: [Caml-list] Re: Still problems with the main ocaml web page) |
In your previous mail you wrote:
From: Eijiro Sumii <eijiro_sumii@anet.ne.jp>
> I reported the same problem with MS IE on Japanese Windows to
> webmaster@brion.inria.fr on March 18
In fact,
http://caml.inria.fr/contact.en.html
shows the address
mailto:webmaster@caml.inria.fr
but I doubt that it is legial according to RFC, since caml.inria.fr is
CNAME in the DNS.
=> aliases (CNAME left parts) are legal in mail addresses.
Indeed, my server at Penn rewrites it to
brion.inria.fr in order to conform to the standard.
=> it rewrites it because it checkes it and gets the canonical name as
a side effect, not because aliases are not legal...
Francis.Dupont@enst-bretagne.fr
PS: alias is a DNS concept, SMTP requires valid names (aliases or canonical
names) with a restriction in the character set (only digits, letters and
the character "-" not in the first position) for labels (names are made up
by labels separated by dots). Note that SMTP does not require the name
exists...