Version française
Home     About     Download     Resources     Contact us    

This site is updated infrequently. For up-to-date information, please visit the new OCaml website at

Browse thread
TLDI 2009: call for papers
[ Home ] [ Index: by date | by threads ]
[ Search: ]

[ Message by date: previous | next ] [ Message in thread: previous | next ] [ Thread: previous | next ]
Date: 2008-10-01 (20:02)
From: Amal Ahmed <amal@t...>
Subject: TLDI 2009: call for papers
[Just a quick reminder that the TLDI deadline is Oct 8th...]

                           CALL FOR PAPERS

                              TLDI 2009 

                        ACM SIGPLAN Workshop on
             Types in Language Design and Implementation 
                           24 January 2009                         
                        Savannah, Georgia, USA

              To be held in conjunction with POPL 2009



Submission:     8 Oct 2008, 5PM EDT (Wed)
Notification:   8 Nov 2008 (Sat)
Camera ready:   19 Nov 2008 (Wed)
TLDI'09:        24 January 2009 (Sat)


The role of types and proofs in all aspects of language design,
compiler construction, and software development has expanded greatly
in recent years. Type systems, type analyses, and formal deduction
have led to new concepts in compilation techniques for modern
programming languages, verification of safety and security properties
of programs, program transformation and optimization, and many other
areas. In light of this expanding role of types, the ACM SIGPLAN
Workshop on Types in Language Design and Implementation (TLDI'09)
follows six previous International Workshops on types in compilation
and language design (TIC'97, TIC'98, TIC'00, TLDI'03, TLDI'05, and
TLDI'07), with the hope of bringing together researchers to share new
ideas and results in this area.

Submissions for this event are invited on all interactions of types
with language design, implementation, and programming methodology.
This includes both practical applications and theoretical aspects.
TLDI'09 specifically encourages papers from a broad field of
programming language and compiler researchers, including those working
in object-oriented, dynamically-typed, late-binding, systems
programming, and mobile-code paradigms, as well as traditional
fully-static type systems. Topics of interest include:

- Typed intermediate languages and type-directed compilation 
- Type-based language support for safety and security 
- Types for interoperability 
- Type systems for system programming languages 
- Type-based program analysis, transformation, and optimization 
- Dependent types and type-based proof assistants 
- Types for security protocols, concurrency, and distributed computing 
- Type inference and type reconstruction 
- Type-based specifications of data structures and program invariants 
- Type-based memory management
- Proof-carrying code and certifying compilation

This is not meant to be an exhaustive list; papers on novel
utilizations of type information are welcome. Authors concerned about
the suitability of a topic are encouraged to inquire via electronic
mail to the program chair prior to submission.


Authors should submit a full paper of no more than 12 pages (including
bibliography and appendices) by Wednesday, October 8, 2008 5PM Eastern
Daylight Savings Time. The submission deadline and length limitations
are firm. Submissions that do not meet these guidelines will not be

All submissions should be in standard ACM SIGPLAN conference format:
two columns, nine-point font on a ten-point baseline. Detailed
formatting guidelines are available on the SIGPLAN Author Information
page, along with a LaTeX class file and template:

Papers must be submitted in Adobe Portable Document Format (PDF) and
must be formatted for US Letter size (8.5"x11") paper. Authors for
whom this is a hardship should contact the program chair before the

Submitted papers must adhere to the SIGPLAN Republication Policy:

Submissions should contain original research not published or 
submitted for publication elsewhere.

The URL for submission will be announced closer to the deadline.


Andrew Kennedy       Microsoft Research, Cambridge


Amal Ahmed           Toyota Technological Institute, Chicago


Amal Ahmed           Toyota Technological Institute, Chicago  (Chair)
Juan Chen            Microsoft Research
Peter Dybjer         Chalmers University of Technology
Jeff Foster          University of Maryland, College Park
Neal Glew            Intel
Robert Harper        Carnegie Mellon University
Andrew Myers         Cornell University
Atsushi Ohori        Tohoku University
Matthew Parkinson    University of Cambridge
Didier Remy          INRIA Paris-Rocquencourt
Andreas Rossberg     Max Planck Institute for Software Systems


Craig Chambers       University of Washington
Robert Harper        Carnegie Mellon University  (Chair)
Xavier Leroy         INRIA Paris-Rocquencourt
Greg Morrisett       Harvard University
George Necula        Rinera Networks and UC Berkeley
Atsushi Ohori        Tohoku University
Francois Pottier     INRIA Paris-Rocquencourt
Zhong Shao           Yale University