English version
Accueil     Ŕ propos     Téléchargement     Ressources     Contactez-nous    

Ce site est rarement mis ŕ jour. Pour les informations les plus récentes, rendez-vous sur le nouveau site OCaml ŕ l'adresse ocaml.org.

Browse thread
IFL 2009: Second Call for Papers
[ Home ] [ Index: by date | by threads ]
[ Search: ]

[ Message by date: previous | next ] [ Message in thread: previous | next ] [ Thread: previous | next ]
Date: 2009-05-29 (16:22)
From: IFL 2009 <ifl2009@s...>
Subject: IFL 2009: Second Call for Papers
Call for Papers 
IFL 2009
Seton Hall University

** NEW **

Accomodations information available: 

Jane Street Capital has joined IFL 2009 as a sponsor


The 21st International Symposium on Implementation and Application of 
Functional Languages, IFL 2009, will be held 
for the first time in the USA. The hosting institution is Seton Hall 
University in South Orange, NJ, USA and the 
symposium dates are September 23-25, 2009. It is our goal to make IFL a 
regular event held in the USA and in 
Europe. The goal of the IFL symposia is to bring together researchers 
actively engaged in the implementation and 
application of functional and function-based programming languages. IFL 
2009 will be a venue for researchers to 
present and discuss new ideas and concepts, work in progress, and 
publication-ripe results related to the 
implementation and application of functional languages and function-based 

Following the IFL tradition, IFL 2009 will use a post-symposium review 
process to produce a formal proceedings which 
will be published by Springer in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science 
series. All participants in IFL 2009 are 
invited to submit either a draft paper or an extended abstract describing 
work to be presented at the symposium. 
These submissions will be screened by the program committee chair to make 
sure they are within the scope of IFL and will 
appear in the draft proceedings distributed at the symposium. Submissions 
appearing in the draft proceedings are not 
peer-reviewed publications. After the symposium, authors will be given the 
opportunity to incorporate the feedback from 
discussions at the symposium and will be invited to submit a revised full 
arcticle for the formal review process. These 
revised submissions will be reviewed by the program committee using 
prevailing academic standards to select the best 
articles that will appear in the formal proceedings.


IFL welcomes submissions describing practical and theoretical work as well 
as submissions describing applications and tools. 
If you are not sure if your work is appropriate for IFL 2009, please 
contact the PC chair at ifl2009@shu.edu. Topics of 
interest include, but are not limited to:

 language concepts 
 type checking 
 compilation techniques 
 staged compilation
 runtime function specialization
 runtime code generation 
 partial evaluation 
 (abstract) interpretation 
 generic programming techniques 
 automatic program generation 
 array processing 
 concurrent/parallel programming 
 concurrent/parallel program execution 
 functional programming and embedded systems 
 functional programming and web applications 
 functional programming and security 
 novel memory management techniques 
 runtime profiling and performance measurements 
 debugging and tracing 
 virtual/abstract machine architectures 
 validation and verification of functional programs 
 tools and programming techniques 
 FP in Education


Prospective authors are encouraged to submit papers or extended abstracts 
to be published in the draft proceedings and to 
present them at the symposium. All contributions must be written in 
English, conform to the Springer-Verlag LNCS series 
format and not exceed 16 pages. The draft proceedings will appear as a 
technical report of the Department of Mathematics 
and Computer Science of Seton Hall University.


Registration deadline                   August 15, 2009
Presentation submission deadline        August 15, 2009
IFL 2009 Symposium                      September 23-25, 2009
Submission for review process deadline  November 1, 2009
Notification Accept/Reject              December 22, 2009
Camera ready version                    February 1, 2010


Peter Achten                       University of Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Jost Berthold                       Philipps-Universität Marburg, Germany
Andrew Butterfield             University of Dublin, Ireland
Robby Findler                     Northwestern University, USA
Kathleen Fisher                   AT&T Research, USA
Cormac Flanagan              University of California at Santa Cruz, USA
Matthew Flatt                        University of Utah, USA
Matthew Fluet                       Toyota Technological Institute at 
Chicago, USA
Daniel Friedman                 Indiana University, USA
Andy Gill                                University of Kansas, USA
Clemens Grelck                  University of Amsterdam/Hertfordshire, The 
Jurriaan Hage                      Utrecht University, The Netherlands
Ralf Hinze                              Oxford University, UK
Paul Hudak                           Yale University, USA
John Hughes                        Chalmers University of Technology, 
Patricia Johann                    University of Strathclyde, UK
Yukiyoshi Kameyama        University of Tsukuba, Japan
Marco T. Morazán (Chair)  Seton Hall University, USA
Rex Page                                University of Oklahoma, USA
Fernando Rubio                    Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain
Sven-Bodo Scholz               University of Hertfordshire, UK
Manuel Serrano                     INRIA Sophia-Antipolis, France
Chung-chieh Shan                Rutgers University, USA
David Walker                         Princeton University, USA
Viktória Zsók                          Eötvös Loránd University, Hungary


The Peter Landin Prize is awarded to the best paper presented at the 
symposium every year. The honored article is selected 
by the program committee based on the submissions received for the formal 
review process. The prize carries a cash award 
equivalent to 150 euros.