Version française
Home     About     Download     Resources     Contact us    

Using the Format module

The Format module of Caml Light and OCaml's standard libraries provides pretty-printing facilities to get a fancy display for printing routines. This module implements a “pretty-printing engine” that is intended to break lines in a nice way (let's say “automatically when it is necessary”).

Principles

Line breaking is based on three concepts:

Boxes

There are 4 types of boxes. (The most often used is the “hov” box type, so skip the rest at first reading).

Let me give an example. Suppose we can write 10 chars before the right margin (that indicates no more room). We represent any char as a - sign; characters [ and ] indicates the opening and closing of a box and b stands for a break hint given to the pretty-printing engine.

The output "--b--b--" is displayed like this (the b symbol stands for the value of the break that is explained below):

Printing spaces

Break hints are also used to output spaces (if the line is not split when the break is encountered, otherwise the new line indicates properly the separation between printing items). You output a break hint using print_break sp indent, and this sp integer is used to print “sp” spaces. Thus print_break sp ... may be thought as: print sp spaces or output a new line.

For instance, if b is break 1 0 in the output "--b--b--", we get

Generally speaking, a printing routine using "format", should not directly output white spaces: the routine should use break hints instead. (For instance print_space () that is a convenient abbreviation for print_break 1 0 and outputs a single space or break the line.)

Indentation of new lines

The user gets 2 ways to fix the indentation of new lines:

Refinement on “hov” boxes

Packing and structural “hov” boxes

The “hov” box type is refined into two categories.

Differences between a packing and a structural “hov” box

The difference between a packing and a structural “hov” box is shown by a routine that closes boxes and parentheses at the end of printing: with packing boxes, the closure of boxes and parentheses do not lead to new lines if there is enough room on the line, whereas with structural boxes each break hint will lead to a new line. For instance, when printing "[(---[(----[(---b)]b)]b)]", where "b" is a break hint without extra indentation (print_cut ()). If "[" means opening of a packing “hov” box (open_hovbox), "[(---[(----[(---b)]b)]b)]" is printed as follows:

(---
 (----
  (---)))

If we replace the packing boxes by structural boxes (open_box), each break hint that precedes a closing parenthesis can show the boxes structure, if it leads to a new line; hence "[(---[(----[(---b)]b)]b)]" is printed like this:

(---
 (----
  (---
  )
 )
)

Practical advice

When writing a pretty-printing routine, follow these simple rules:

  1. Boxes must be opened and closed consistently (open_* and close_box must be nested like parentheses).
  2. Never hesitate to open a box.
  3. Output many break hints, otherwise the pretty-printer is in a bad situation where it tries to do its best, which is always “worse than your bad”.
  4. Do not try to force spacing using explicit spaces in the character strings. For each space you want in the output emit a break hint (print_space ()), unless you explicitly don't want the line to be broken here. For instance, imagine you want to pretty print a Caml definition, more precisely a let rec ident = expression value definition. You will probably treat the first three spaces as “unbreakable spaces” and write them directly in the string constants for keywords, and print "let rec " before the identifier, and similarly write  = to get an unbreakable space after the identifier; in contrast, the space after the = sign is certainly a break hint, since breaking the line after = is a usual (and elegant) way to indent the expression part of a definition. In short, it is often necessary to print unbreakable spaces; however, most of the time a space should be considered a break hint.
  5. Do not try to force new lines, let the pretty-printer do it for you: that's its only job. In particular, do not use force_newline: this procedure effectively leads to a newline, but it also as the unfortunate side effect to partially reinitialise the pretty-printing engine, so that the rest of the printing material is noticeably messed up.
  6. Never put newline characters directly in the strings to be printed: pretty printing engine will consider this newline character as any other character written on the current line and this will completely mess up the output. Instead of new line characters use line break hints: if those break hints must always result in new lines, it just means that the surrounding box must be a vertical box!
  7. End your main program by a print_newline () call, that flushes the pretty-printer tables (hence the output). (Note that the top-level loop of the interactive system does it as well, just before a new input.)

Printing to stdout: using printf

The format module provides a general printing facility “à la” printf. In addition to the usual conversion facility provided by printf, you can write pretty-printing indications directly inside the format string (opening and closing boxes, indicating breaking hints, etc).

Pretty-printing annotations are introduced by the @ symbol, directly into the string format. Almost any function of the format module can be called from within a printf format string. For instance

For instance

printf "@[<1>%s@ =@ %d@ %s@]@." "Prix TTC" 100 "Euros";;
Prix TTC = 100 Euros
- : unit = ()

A concrete example

Let me give a full example: the shortest non trivial example you could imagine, that is the $\lambda-$calculus :)

Thus the problem is to pretty-print the values of a concrete data type that models a language of expressions that defines functions and their applications to arguments.

First, I give the abstract syntax of lambda-terms:

type lambda =
  | Lambda of string * lambda
  | Var of string
  | Apply of lambda * lambda
;;

I use the format library to print the lambda-terms:

open Format;;

let ident = print_string;;
let kwd = print_string;;
val ident : string -> unit = <fun>
val kwd : string -> unit = <fun>

let rec print_exp0 = function
  | Var s ->  ident s
  | lam -> open_hovbox 1; kwd "("; print_lambda lam; kwd ")"; close_box ()

and print_app = function
  | e -> open_hovbox 2; print_other_applications e; close_box ()

and print_other_applications f =
  match f with
  | Apply (f, arg) -> print_app f; print_space (); print_exp0 arg
  | f -> print_exp0 f

and print_lambda = function
  | Lambda (s, lam) ->
      open_hovbox 1;
      kwd "\\"; ident s; kwd "."; print_space(); print_lambda lam;
      close_box()
  | e -> print_app e;;
val print_app : lambda -> unit = <fun>
val print_other_applications : lambda -> unit = <fun>
val print_lambda : lambda -> unit = <fun>

In Caml Light, replace the first line by:

#open "format";;

Most general pretty-printing: using fprintf

We use the fprintf function to write the most versatile version of the pretty-printing functions for lambda-terms. Now, the functions get an extra argument, namely a pretty-printing formatter (the ppf argument) where printing will occur. This way the printing routines are more general, since they can print on any formatter defined in the program (either printing to a file, or to stdout, to stderr, or even to a string). Furthermore, the pretty-printing functions are now compositional, since they may be used in conjunction with the special %a conversion, that prints a fprintf argument with a user's supplied function (these user's supplied functions also have a formatter as first argument).

Using fprintf, the lambda-terms printing routines can be written as follows:

open Format;;

let ident ppf s = fprintf ppf "%s" s;;
let kwd ppf s = fprintf ppf "%s" s;;
val ident : Format.formatter -> string -> unit
val kwd : Format.formatter -> string -> unit

let rec pr_exp0 ppf = function
  | Var s -> fprintf ppf "%a" ident s
  | lam -> fprintf ppf "@[<1>(%a)@]" pr_lambda lam

and pr_app ppf = function
  | e ->  fprintf ppf "@[<2>%a@]" pr_other_applications e

and pr_other_applications ppf f =
  match f with
  | Apply (f, arg) -> fprintf ppf "%a@ %a" pr_app f pr_exp0 arg
  | f -> pr_exp0 ppf f

and pr_lambda ppf = function
 | Lambda (s, lam) ->
     fprintf ppf "@[<1>%a%a%a@ %a@]" kwd "\\" ident s kwd "." pr_lambda lam
 | e -> pr_app ppf e
;;
val pr_app : Format.formatter -> lambda -> unit
val pr_other_applications : Format.formatter -> lambda -> unit
val pr_lambda : Format.formatter -> lambda -> unit

Given those general printing routines, procedures to print to stdout or stderr is just a matter of partial application:

let print_lambda = pr_lambda std_formatter;;
let eprint_lambda = pr_lambda err_formatter;;
val print_lambda : lambda -> unit
val eprint_lambda : lambda -> unit

English version
Accueil     À propos     Téléchargement     Ressources     Contactez-nous    

Utiliser le module Format

Le module Format des librairies standard de Caml Light et OCaml propose une méthode d'impression enjolivée. Ce module implémente un moteur d'impression qui coupe « bien » les lignes (« bien » signifie à-peu-près ici « automatiquement et quand nécessaire »).

Principes

La coupure des lignes repose sur trois concepts:

Les boîtes

Il y a 4 types de boîtes. (La plus communément utilisée est la boîte « hov », laissez tomber les autres types en première lecture.)

Donnons un exemple. Supposons que nous voulions écrire 10 caractères avant la marge droite (qui indique qu'il n'y a plus de place sur la ligne courante). Je représente chaque caractère par une marque -, les ouvertures et fermetures de boîtes sont indiquées respectivement par [ et ], et b signifie une indication de coupure (blanc ou « break »).

La sortie "--b--b--" est imprimée comme suit (le symbole b vaut la valeur de la coupure comme expliqué ci-après) :

Impression des espaces

Les indications de coupure sont aussi utilisées pour imprimer des espaces (si la ligne n'est pas coupée quand l'indication de coupure est traitée, sinon le retour à la ligne sépare correctement les éléments à imprimer). Vous donnez une indication de coupure en appelant print_break sp indent, où sp est l'entier qui indique le nombre d'espaces à imprimer.
Donc print_break sp ... signifie imprimer sp espaces ou aller à la ligne.

Par exemple, si l'on imprime "--b--b--" (où b est print_break 1 0, ce qui correspond à l'impression d'un espace), on obtient la sortie suivante :

De façon générale, un programme qui utilise format, n'écrit pas d'espaces lui-même mais émet des indications de coupure. (Par exemple à l'aide de print_space () qui est synonyme de print_break 1 0 et écrit un espace ou déclenche une coupure de ligne.)

Indentation des lignes nouvelles

On dispose de deux moyens de fixer l'indentation des lignes :

Raffinement sur les boîtes « hov »

Boîte « hov » tassante et boîte « hov » structurelle

Les boîtes « hov » se subdivisent en deux catégories au comportement légèrement différent en ce qui concerne les coupures qui interviennent après la fermeture d'une boîte dont l'indentation est différente de la boîte qui l'englobe. On distingue :

Différences entre boîte « hov » tassante et boîte « hov » structurelle

La différence de comportement entre la boîte « hov » tassante et la boîte « hov » structurelle (ou « box ») est mise en évidence par la fermeture des boîtes et la fermeture des parenthèses en fin d'impression: avec la boîte « hov » tassante les boîtes et les parenthèses sont fermées sur la même ligne (si la place disponible le permet), tandis qu'avec la boîte « hov » structurelle chaque indication de coupure produira un saut de ligne. Prenons l'exemple de la sortie de "[(---[(----[(---b)]b)]b)]" où "b" représente une indication de coupure sans indentation supplémentaire (print_cut ()). Ainsi, si "[" représente l'ouverture de boîtes « hov » tassantes (open_hovbox), "[(---[(----[(---b)]b)]b)]" est imprimé ainsi:

(---
 (----
  (---)))

Si maintenant on remplace les boîtes « hov » tassantes par des boîtes « hov » structurelles (open_box), chaque indication de coupure placée avant chaque parenthèse fermante est susceptible de montrer la structure de boîte et produit donc une coupure; on obtient alors :

(---
 (----
  (---
  )
 )
)

Conseils pratiques

En écrivant vos fonctions d'impression, suivez les règles simples suivantes :

  1. Les boîtes doivent être ouvertes et fermées de façon cohérente (les appels à open_* et à close_box doivent être parenthésés).
  2. N'hésitez pas à ouvrir des boîtes.
  3. Donnez beaucoup d'indications de coupures, sinon l'imprimeur se retrouve dans une situation anormale (coincé sur la marge droite), où il essaie de faire de son mieux, ce qui n'est pas toujours très bon.
  4. N'essayez pas de forcer l'espacement à l'aide de blancs explicites dans les chaînes de caractères à imprimer. Pour chaque espace nécessaire, utilisez une indication de coupure (print_space ()), à moins que vous ne vouliez pas que la ligne soit coupée à cet endroit. Par exemple, imaginez que vous vouliez imprimer une définition Caml, disons let rec ident = expression. Vous allez probablement considérer les 3 premiers blancs comme des « blancs insécables » et les inclure directement dans une chaîne de caractères, et écrire la chaîne "let  rec  " avant l'identificateur et la chaîne   = après lui; en revanche, l'espace qui suit le caractère = doit être une indication de coupure, puisqu'il est d'usage (et élégant) de couper la ligne à cet endroit pour indenter la partie expression d'une définition. En conclusion, il est bien sûr souvent nécessaire d'imprimer des caractères « espace », ou blancs insécables, mais la plupart du temps un espace correspond plutôt à une indication de coupure.)
  5. Ne forcez jamais de coupures de ligne, laissez le moteur d'impression le faire pour vous: c'est son travail! En particulier, n'utilisez pas la procédure force_newline: son usage provoque bien une coupure de ligne, mais il provoque aussi une réinitialisation partielle du moteur d'impression qui déséquilibre tout le reste de l'impression.
  6. N'imprimez jamais de retour à la ligne dans les chaînes de caractères : le moteur d'impression considèrera à juste titre ce retour chariot comme un caractère quelconque émis sur la ligne courante, ce qui dérangera complètement la sortie. Utilisez à la place des coupures de ligne: si celles-ci doivent se produire à tout coup, c'est que la boîte englobante doit être une boîte verticale!
  7. Terminez votre programme principal d'impression par un appel à print_newline (), qui vide les tables de l'imprimeur (et donc termine l'impression). (Notez que le système interactif le fait également à la fin de chaque phrase entrée.)

Impression sur la sortie standard: utilisation de printf

Le module format vous propose une fonction générale de formattage à la printf. En plus des indications de format habituelles à la primitive printf, on dispose dans le format de caractères qui commandent ouvertures et fermetures de boîtes ainsi que l'émission d'indications de coupure de ligne.

Les indications spécifiques au moteur d'impression sont toutes introduites par le caractère @. À peu près toutes les fonctions du module format peuvent être appelées depuis un format de printf. Ainsi :

Par exemple

printf "@[<1>%s@ =@ %d@ %s@]@." "Prix TTC" 100 "Euros";;
Prix TTC = 100 Euros
- : unit = ()

Un exemple concret

Voici un exemple complet : le plus petit exemple non trivial qu'on puisse imaginer, c'est-à-dire le $\lambda-$calculus :)

Le problème est donc d'imprimer les valeurs d'un type concret qui modélise un langage d'expressions qui définissent les fonctions et leur application à des arguments.

D'abord, je donne la syntaxe abstraite des lambda-termes :

type lambda =
  | Lambda of string * lambda
  | Var of string
  | Apply of lambda * lambda
;;

J'utilise le module format pour imprimer les lambda-termes:

open Format;;

let ident = print_string;;
let kwd = print_string;;
val ident : string -> unit = <fun>
val kwd : string -> unit = <fun>

let rec print_exp0 = function
  | Var s ->  ident s
  | lam -> open_hovbox 1; kwd "("; print_lambda lam; kwd ")"; close_box ()

and print_app = function
  | e -> open_hovbox 2; print_other_applications e; close_box ()

and print_other_applications f =
  match f with
  | Apply (f, arg) -> print_app f; print_space (); print_exp0 arg
  | f -> print_exp0 f

and print_lambda = function
  | Lambda (s, lam) ->
      open_hovbox 1;
      kwd "\\"; ident s; kwd "."; print_space(); print_lambda lam;
      close_box()
  | e -> print_app e;;
val print_app : lambda -> unit = <fun>
val print_other_applications : lambda -> unit = <fun>
val print_lambda : lambda -> unit = <fun>

En Caml Light, remplacez la première ligne par :

#open "format";;

Impression la plus générale: utilisation de fprintf

On utilise maintenant la fonction fprintf et toutes les fonctions d'impression prennent en argument supplémentaire le formatteur (c'est l'argument ppf) où l'impression se produira. Cela généralise les fonctions d'impression qui peuvent maintenant imprimer sur n'importe quel formateur défini dans le programme, et cela permet en outre d'utiliser la conversion %a, celle qu'on utilise pour imprimer un argument de fprintf avec une fonction d'impression spécialisée qu'on a préalablement définie dans le programme (ces fonctions d'impression de l'utilisateur prennent aussi un formatteur en premier argument).

Voici la fonction d'impression des lambda-termes à l'aide des formats d'impression à la fprintf.

open Format;;

let ident ppf s = fprintf ppf "%s" s;;
let kwd ppf s = fprintf ppf "%s" s;;
val ident : Format.formatter -> string -> unit
val kwd : Format.formatter -> string -> unit

let rec pr_exp0 ppf = function
  | Var s -> fprintf ppf "%a" ident s
  | lam -> fprintf ppf "@[<1>(%a)@]" pr_lambda lam

and pr_app ppf = function
  | e ->  fprintf ppf "@[<2>%a@]" pr_other_applications e

and pr_other_applications ppf f =
  match f with
  | Apply (f, arg) -> fprintf ppf "%a@ %a" pr_app f pr_exp0 arg
  | f -> pr_exp0 ppf f

and pr_lambda ppf = function
 | Lambda (s, lam) ->
     fprintf ppf "@[<1>%a%a%a@ %a@]" kwd "\\" ident s kwd "." pr_lambda lam
 | e -> pr_app ppf e
;;
val pr_app : Format.formatter -> lambda -> unit
val pr_other_applications : Format.formatter -> lambda -> unit
val pr_lambda : Format.formatter -> lambda -> unit

Armés de ces fonctions d'impression générales, les procédures d'impression sur la sortie standard ou la sortie d'erreur s'obtiennent facilement par application partielle:.

let print_lambda = pr_lambda std_formatter;;
let eprint_lambda = pr_lambda err_formatter;;
val print_lambda : lambda -> unit
val eprint_lambda : lambda -> unit